search icon

Student Leadership

Leader in Me

"We only get one chance to prepare our students for a future that none of us can possibly predict. What are we going to do with that one chance?" - Stephen R. Covey

At Winterburn we are proud to be growing as a Leader in Me school since 2016. The Leader in Me is based on Stephen Covey's 7 Habits of Highly Effective People. The 7 Habits will be integrated into our school's culture, teaching students valuable life lessons in responsibility, leadership and citizenship. It is a program we believe is worth investing in so that all students can have the skills to achieve their full potential.

Habit #1: Be Proactive - You're in Charge
I am a responsible person. I take initiative. I choose my actions, attitudes and moods. I do not blame others for my wrong actions. I do  the right thing without being asked, even when no one is looking.

Habit #2: Begin With the End in Mind - Have a Plan
I plan ahead and set goals. I do things that have meaning and make a difference. I am an important part of my classroom and contribute to my school's mission and vision. I look for ways to be a good citizen.

Habit #3: Put First Things First - Work First, Then Play
I spend my time on things that are most important. This means I say "no" to things I know I should not do. I set priorities, make a schedule and follow my plan. I am disciplined and organized.

Habit #4: Think Win-Win - Everyone Can Win
I balance courage for getting what I want with consideration for what others want. I make deposits in in others' Emotional Bank Accounts. When conflicts arise, I look for third alternatives.

Habit #5: Seek First to Understand Then to Be Understood - Listen Before You Talk
I listen to other people's ideas and feelings. I try to see things from their viewpoints. I listen to others without interrupting. I am confident in voicing my ideas. I look people in the eyes when talking.

Habit #6: Energize - Together is Better
I value other people's strengths and learn from them. I get along well with others, even people who are different than me. I work well in groups. I seek out other people's ideas to solve problems because I know that by teaming with others we can create better solutions than anyone of us can alone. I am humble.

Habit #7: Sharpen the Saw - Balance Feels Best
I take care of my body by eating right, exercising and getting sleep. I spend time with family and friends. I learn in lots of ways and lots of places, not just at school. I find meaningful ways to help others.